SHSAT Update

There are currently (May 2021) two bills in committee in the State Legislature regarding the SHSAT – S3087 in the State Senate, and A7510 in the State Assembly. Both bills seek to repeal Hecht-Calandra and additionally, terminate state control over the specialized high schools (S3087) or end the Discovery program (A7510). These bills would end the SHSAT as the sole metric to determine admission to the specialized high schools. The New York State legislative session ends on June 10, 2021. If you have an opinion, it is important to express it to your representatives NOW – your school PA, SLT, and NY State representatives. Go to CEC meetings, forums, town halls, and contact or visit NY State reps in Albany (see below). Most importantly, VOTE in the primaries on June 22, 2021 and the general election on November 2, 2021!


Opportunities to express your opinion

What do these proposed changes mean for our current and future students, our schools, communities, and our city? If you have an opinion, express it to your representatives now – your school PA, SLT, and NY State representatives. There are many opportunities to learn more, to listen to others, and to express your opinion. Go to CEC meetings, forums, town halls, and contact or visit NY State reps in Albany.

Email your SLT and PA representatives

The directory of SLT and PA email addresses is here.

Contact your NY State Assembly Member and Senator

Here’s why you should call (not email) your senator (NY Times)

Identify your New York State assembly members and senators and reach out to them to express your opinion on the proposed changes to the SHSAT, and find out what their stand is.

How to find your NY State Assembly Member (NYS Assembly website search form, input your address)

How to find your NY State Senator (NYS Senate website search form, input your address)

VOTE in New York City elections.  

Efforts to oppose these bills are being organized by PlaceNYC.

Efforts to support these bills are being organized by Teens Take Charge.


Respond to Senate Bill S3087

The abolish the SHSAT New York State Senate Bill S3087 was referred to the New York City Education Committee on January 27. John Liu is the chair of the standing committee. Have your voice heard:

Contact current members of NYC education committee:

Andrew Lanza (R) SD24518-455-3215lanza@nysenate.gov
Jabari Brisport* (D) SD25718-643-6140brisport@nysenate.gov
Simcha Felder (D) SD17718-253-2015felder@nysenate.gov
Robert Jackson* (D) SD31212-544-0173jackson@nysenate.gov
Jessica Ramos* (D) SD13718-205-3881ramos@nysenate.gov
James Tedisco (R) SD49518-885-1829tedisco@nysenate.gov
* Sponsor of bill

Respond to Assembly Bill A7510

The abolish the SHSAT New York State Assembly Bill A7510 was referred to the NYS Assembly’s Education Committee on May 12th. Michael Benedetto is the chair of the standing committee and a sponsor of the bill. Have your voice heard:

Contact current members of NYC education committee can be found here.

Rodneyse Bichotte Hermelyn* (D) D42718-940-0428bichotter@nyassembly.gov
Harry Bronson (D) D138585-244-5255bronsonh@nyassembly.gov
Marianne Buttenschonm (D) D119315-732-1055buttenschonm@nyassembly.gov
William Conrad (D) D140716-873-2540conradw@nyassembly.gov
Inez E. Dickens (D) D70 212-866-5809DickensI@nyassembly.gov
Christopher S. Friend (R) D124607-562-3602friendc@nyassembly.gov
Alicia Hyndman (D) D29718-723-5412hyndmana@nyassembly.gov
Chantel Jackson (D) D79718-538-3829Jacksonc@nyassembly.gov
Kimberly Jean-Pierre (D) D11631-957-2087jeanpierrek@nyassembly.gov
Latoya Joyner (D) D77718-538-2000joynerl@nyassembly.gov
Ron Kim (D) D40718-939-0195KimR@nyassembly.gov
Mike Lawler (R) D97845-624-4601lawlerm@nyassembly.gov
William B. Magnarelli (D) D129315-428-9651MagnarW@nyassembly.gov
David G. McDonough (R) D14516-409-2070mcdonoughd@nyassembly.gov
John K. Mikulin (R) D17516-228-4960mikulinj@nyassembly.gov
Melissa Miller (R) D20516-431-0500MillerML@nyassembly.gov
Marcela Mitaynes D51718-492-6334mitaynesm@nyassembly.gov
Daniel J. O’Donnell (D) D69 212-866-3970Click name for online contact form
Steven Otis (D) D91914-939-7028OtisS@nyassembly.gov
Amy Paulin (D) D88914-723-1115Click name for online contact form
Michael Reilly (R) D62718-967-5194reillym@nyassembly.gov
Diana C. Richardson (D) D43718-771-3105district43@nyassembly.gov
Nader J. Sayegh (D) D90914-779-8805sayeghn@nyassembly.gov
Rebecca A. Seawright (D) D76212-288-4607SeawrightR@nyassembly.gov
Amanda Septimo (D) D84 718-292-2901septimoa@nyassembly.gov
Jo Anne Simon (D) D52718-246-4889simonj@nyassembly.gov
Doug Smith (R) D5 631-585-0230smithd@nyassembly.gov
Al Taylor (D) D71212-234-1430taylora@nyassembly.gov
Mary Beth Walsh (R) D112 518-884-8010walshm@nyassembly.gov
* Sponsor of bill

Stuyvesant Parents’ Association Statement on SHSAT – 2018

The Stuyvesant PA Executive Board Statement is here – in English, Chinese, Korean and Spanish.

Bronx Science Parents’ Association Statement on SHSAT

PDF file here

Media reporting on the SHSAT

Our SHSAT in the News page contains links to media reporting

Learn about the DOE’s proposed changes to the SHSAT

Read the DOE Specialized High School Proposal to understand the proposed changes, which are intended to increase the numbers of Black and Latinx students in Specialized High Schools (SHS). These changes include:

  • Expanding the Discovery Program (a summer enrichment program) to 20% of seats offered by each SHS
  • Eliminating all SHSAT test-only admissions within 3 years
  • Making SHS offers to the top 7% of students at each DOE public middle school

Learn how these proposals will affect Stuyvesant and other SHS

Brooklyn Tech Alumni Association report on the SHSAT and diversity – Summary (PDF)
or read the Full report (PDF Brooklyn Tech Alumni Association website)

Timeline of events

  • 2021: NYS Senate Bill S3087 and Assembly Bill A7510 to repeal Hecht-Calandra are referred to committee.
  • 2020: Discovery Program is expanded – 20% of SHSAT seats are reserved for low income or English language learners who attend high Economic Need Index schools. 
  • January 2019: New legislative session starts in Albany, NY, when the proposed bill to eliminate SHSAT will be brought up to the floor for a vote.
  • Spring 2019: High school offer letters distributed; Eligible students are notified of their participation in the expanded Discovery Program.
  • Summer 2019: Discovery Program sponsored and conducted by Specialized High Schools.